2015 has come to an end and now the countdown to the festival begins! Judges have made their decisions for the Fall 2015 quarter. Winners in each category are automatically selected to be screened at this years festival and are one of the nominees for the festival award in that category. The 2016 festival will be held at the Japanese American National Museum in Little Tokyo March 10-13, 2016.



Best Drama 
Winner: Touch (Lulu Wang)

Honorable Mention: Mooncake (Francois Yang)

Honorable Mention: To Die or to Dream (Peilin Kuo)


Best Comedy
Winner: Mango Sticky Rice (Mallorie Ortega)

Honorable Mention: Dirty Sock (Rommel Andaya)


Best Fantasy/Sci-Fi
Winner: Planet X (Rohit Gill)


Best Horror/Thriller
Winner: Hada (Tony Morales)


Best Action/Adventure
Winner: Mt. Molehill (Jesse Stewart)

Honorable Mention: Eternity (James Boss)

Honorable Mention: You Can’t Hear Me. You Can’t See Me. (Andrew Suleiman)


Best Animation 
Winner: R I S E (Steve Nguyen & Choz Belen)


Best Music Video
Winner: Spaceship – Dan aka Dan featuring Sam Kang (Rommel Andaya)

Honorable Mention: I Can’t Be Your Superman – Skylar Spence (Maegan Houang)


Best Ensemble Cast 

Winner: Mango Sticky Rice (Mallorie Ortega)

Honorable Mention: Family Gathering (David Au)


Best Actor
Winner: Frederic Siuen (Mooncake)

Honorable Mention: Joshua Chang (Touch)


Best Actress 
Winner: Julia Ma (Mt. Molehill)

Honorable Mention: Rachel Leyco (Maple’s Tree)


Best Supporting Actor
Winner: Bing Yin (Mooncake)


Best Supporting Actress 
Winner: Cici Lau (Touch)

Honorable Mention: Aying Li (Alice’s Mirror)


Best Director
Winner: Mallorie Ortega (Mango Sticky Rice)

Honorable Mention: Lulu Wang (Touch)


Best Cinematographer 
Winner: Luke Askelson (Mt. Molehill)

Honorable Mention: Catherine Lutes (Anne Darling)


Best Editing
Winner: Stephen Greist & Qianzhu Luo (Mango Sticky Rice)

Honorable Mention: Qiuchen Cao (The Pride)


Best Original Score 
Winner: Diana Cha (Mango Sticky Rice)

Honorable Mention: Lorenz Hideyoshi, Paul Cless & Efe Okmen (Passage)

Share This